Connect with us


Buhari inaugurates RMAFC board, others



The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari, on Thursday, inaugurated chairmen and members of the Federal Character Commission, Federal Civil Service Commission, and the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation And Fiscal Commission.

The inauguration, which took place at the Presidential Villa, Abuja was attended by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Kwara State Governor, Abdulrazaq Abdulrahman; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; Chief of Staff to the President, Prof Ibrahim Gambari; and some ministers among others.

In a statement by Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha newsmen, that it is the government’s expectation that RMAFC addresses the shortfall being recorded in the nation’s earnings by mobilising funds from the non-oil sector.

While he also urged the  chairman and members of the FCC to ensure equitable distribution of not only offices but also of amenities as required by law.

He said, “The commissions have some constitutional responsibilities because all of them are mentioned in the constitution. That presupposes that the constitution has already provided for them a mandate, especially as we are notching towards the end of the President’s tenure.

“We have just spent a year and we have three years to go, but there are many things that we want them to begin to do in terms of re-energising the system.

“The Federal Character Commission particularly has the responsibility in the constitution which is very fundamental to ensure equitable distribution of not only offices but even of amenities, benefits and welfare to the people of the country.

“The Revenue Mobilization Allocation And Fiscal Commission is very critical, particularly now that we have very serious shortfall in our earnings. The essence of the revenue mobilisation is to look at the non-oil sector particularly in terms of mobilising revenue for the country. I believe that now that they have full complement of their membership, they should be able to give it the necessary drive.”

The newly appointed members of three constitutional bodies of the Federal Government  are as follows:

Members of RMAFC who were inaugurated included Ahmed Yusuf from Taraba; Bello Wamakko from Sokoto; Oladele Gboyega from Osun; Adamu Dibai from Borno; Alfred Egba from Bayelsa and Hajiya Salamatu Bala from Adamawa.

For the FCSC, two members were inaugurated. They are Dr Jonah Madugu from Plateau State, (representing Plateau, Benue and Nasarawa States) and Dr Fredrick Ekwem from Imo State, (representing Imo and Abia States.)

The President also inaugurated Muheeda Dankaka as the chairman of the FCC and 36 other members of the board.

The 36 members include Henry Ogbulogo (Abia), Salihu Bello (Adamawa), Dorah Daniel (Akwa-Ibom), Ibeabuchi Uche, (Anambra), Mohammed Tijjani, (Bauchi), Tonye Okio (Bayelsa) and Silas Macikpah (Benue).

Others were Abba Ali Monguno (Borno), Nsor Atamgba (Cross River), Alims Agoda (Delta), Tobias Chukuemeka (Ebonyi), Imuetinyan Festus (Edo), Sesan Fatoba (Ekiti), Ginika Tor (Enugu). Hamza Mohammed (Gombe), Diogu Uche, (Imo) and Lawan Ya’u Roni (Jigawa).

Also inaugurated were Hadiza Muazu (Kaduna), Mohammed Na’iya (Kano), Lawal Garba (Katsina), Abubakar Atiku Bunu (Kebbi), Idris Bello (Kogi), Are Bolaji (Lagos), Nasir Isa Kwarra (Nasarawa), and Suleiman Barau (Niger).

Others are Abiodun Akinlade (Ogun), Olufemi Omosanya (Ondo), Adeoye Olalekan (Osun) Adeniyi Olowofela (Oyo), Stephen Jings (Plateau), Wokocha Augustine (Rivers), Abdullahi Tafida (Sokoto), Alhaji Armaya’u Abubakar (Taraba), Jibril Maigari (Yobe), Sani Garba (Zamfara) and Adamu Sidi-Ali (Federal Capital Territory).

President Muhammadu Buhari presided over the ceremony in exercise of the powers conferred on him by Section 154 Sub-section 1 of the nation’s Constitution.

Yusuf Luka, is a journalist by profession, He is a graduate of Bingham University. Outside of work, He enjoys hiking with friends, Reading books, and Watching movies. Let's connect on social media.