Connect with us

International News

E.U Borders Reopening: Nigeria, others barred



The European Union (E.U) has barred some numbers of countries from coming into the European Union territory from this Wednesday amid borders reopening.

The commission’s decision was revealed in a post on Schengenvisainfo amid the July 1 reopening of borders.

According to the statement, Nigeria China, Brazil, America and other countries, were exempted from a compromise Draft List of fifty four countries drawn up by the European Commission, whose citizens can now come into the E.U’s  external borders.

This is to enable the Union, to  curb the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic especially from countries that are highly hit with the deadly virus.

Eleven African countries such as Rwanda, Angola, Morocco and Uganda, however made the entry List.

The statement added that the EU has also confirmed that citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the United States and Russia will only be able to enter the European Union  when the epidemiology situation in those ountries improve..

EU Commission spokesman Eric Mamer had last Thursday, said that the European Union has an internal process to determine from which countries it would be safe to accept travellers,” adding that its decisions are “based on health criteria.”