Connect with us


Meet House of Representatives members who sponsored the highest bills



The Nigerian 9th Assembly of the House of Representatives, have disclosed House of Representatives Members who have sponsored the highest bills respectively.

The names was published on the official Twitter account of the House @ HouseNGR on Monday.

Member of the House of Representatives from Zaria federal constituency, Abass Tajudeen (APC, Kaduna) and the chief whip of the House, Tahir Monguno (APC Borno) have recorded the highest number of bills so far sponsored in the 9th House in the last one year.

While Tajudeen and Mongono sponsored the highest number of bills with 59 and 40 bills respectively, speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabimila sponsored the highest number of bills already passed.

Others members of the House who, according to National Assembly recorded highest number of bills to their names include deputy chief whip, Nkirukah Onyejeocha (APC Abia); Nkem Abonta also from Abia State; Ossai Nicholas Ossai from Delta State; Dachung Bagos and Simon Nwadkwom from Plateau State; Francis Uduyok (Akwa Ibom State) and  Gideon Gwani (Kaduna State).

According to the records, Abonta has so far sponsored 30 bills; Ossai, 29 bills; Bagos, 27 bills; Nwadkwom, 22 bills; Onyejeocha, 19 bills; Speaker Gbajabiamila, 17 bills; Uduyok, 15 bills and Gwani, 15 bills.

Out of the 59 bills sponsored by Tajudeen, 22 bills were meant to establish federal medical centers in 21 states of the federation. The bills which were sponsored separately in 2019 seeks to establish Federal Medical Centers in Abakaliki, Ebonyi State; Abeokuta in Ogun State; Asaba in Delta State; Azare in Bauchi State; Bida, Niger State;  Birni Kebbi in Bebbi State; Birni Kudu, Jigawa State;  Ebute Meta in Lagos State; Yola in Adamawa State;  Gusau in Zamfara State; Ado Ekiti in Ekiti State; Jalingo in Taraba State; Katsina in Katsina State; Keffi in Nasarawa State; Lokoja in Kogi State; Markurdi, Benue State; Nguru in Yobe State; Owerri in Imo State; Owo in Ondo State; Umahia in Abia State and Yenagoa in Bayelsa State.

Tajudeen also sponsored the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019; Public Procurement Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019 and National Youths Welfare Scheme Fund (Establishment) Bill, 2019;

Also, National Universities Commission Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019; Tertiary Education Trust Fund Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019 and National Blood Service Commission and amongst others.

However, Monguno has sponsored notable bills which include the National Commission against the Proliferation Of Small Arms and Light Weapons Bill, 2019;  National Postgraduate College Of Medical Laboratory Science (Establishment) Bill 2019; Nigerian Peace Corp (Establishment) Bill, 2019; National Tobacco Control Act (Amendment) Bill 2019; National Orientation Agency Act (Amendment) Bill 2019; National Ear Care Centre, Kaduna (Establishment) Bill 2019; Nigerian Law Reform Commission Act (Amendment) Bill 2019; Emergency Powers Act (Repeal and Re-enactment) Bill 2019 (Sponsor); Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2019; Regional Centre for Oral Health Research and Training Initiatives (Establishment, etc.) Bill, 2019 and Allocation of Revenue (Federation Account) Act (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

He also sponsored three different bills that have been referred to the House Committee on the Amendment of the 1999 constitution (as amended).

Meanwhile, out of the 17 bills sponsored by Speaker Gbajabiamila, six have been passed by the House, while others, including constitution amendments bills are awaiting committee reports.

The bills already passed include Electric Power Sector Reform Act (Amendment) Bill 2019; Physically Challenged (Empowerment) Bill 2019; Presidential (Transition) Bill, 2019; Student Loan (Access to Higher Education) Bill, 2019; Labour Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019; and Emergency Economic Stimulus Bill, 2020.

Others awaiting committees report include,  Quarantine Act (Repeal and Re-enactment) Bill, 2020;  Employees (Unpaid Wages Prohibition) Bill, 2019; Federal Highways Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019; Nigerian Oil and Gas Industry Development Act (Repeal and Enactment) Bill, 2019; South West Development Commission (Establishment) Bill, 2019; Legislative Houses (Powers and Privileges) Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019; Nigerian Local Content Development and Enforcement Bill, 2020; Economic Stimulus Bill 2019 and Labour Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019.